I’m not sure if I trust this story because of the journalist’s name

I love satire because it can poignantly point out others’ stupidity and immorality, but this story shows that it can also tease out latent stupidity.  To wit:

GOP Congressman, Confused By Satirical Article, Goes After MSNBC Host Chris Hayes

The Huffington Post  | By  
Posted: 11/13/2013  

Rep. Tom Latham (R-Iowa) castigated MSNBC host Chris Hayes this week, calling him “America’s village idiot” in a Facebook post. Latham, however, ended up being the one looking uninformed, when he found out that he based his criticism of Hayes on what turned out to be a satirical article.

On Monday, Veterans Day, the Daily Currant published an article claiming that Hayes was personally disgusted with the holiday.

“I don’t know about you, but Veterans Day makes me sick,” the article in the satirical publication quoted Hayes as saying. “It’s just such a jingoistic, macho display of violence and power. I saw a parade while biking to work this morning and I literally felt like vomiting.”

                                       

3 thoughts on “I’m not sure if I trust this story because of the journalist’s name

Leave a Reply

