The Inner Turmoil of a Song and Dance Man

I love to sing and am fairly good, at least by (sober) karaoke standards.  So I cannot help singing to people whose names are in songs I’m familiar with.  If your name is Michelle, you are liable to be greeted by me with, “Michelle, my belle, some French words, some French words, some French words, my Michelle.”

If you’re Bill, you will be discomforted when you hear me rhapsodize about your need to marry me.

I’m sure I creep out a lady I know on a casual basis with, “Sadie, Sadie, such a lovely lady.”

And my buddy Quinn can blame his parents when I harmonically announce, “Hey Quinn the Eskimo’s here; everybody’s gonna’ jump for joy.”

I have a common name, Brian, so why in the hell aren’t there any “Brian” songs?!  It’s not like the Brians I know are particularly boring or anything.

We do have a movie, Brian’s Song, where the main character dies in the end.

What a bummer.

3 thoughts on “The Inner Turmoil of a Song and Dance Man

  1. How about Life of Brian? People could sing ‘His name was Brian!’ or ‘Always Look on the Bright Side of Life’ – one of my favourite songs, it must be said. What would you sing for Jane, by the way? Or Rose, come to that?

    • I love Monty Python! And that movie in particular is one of my all-time faves (and not just b/c of the title). The 1st time I saw them, I was recovering from surgery and a buddy got me stoned. I had to turn it off b/c I was laughing so hard it hurt.

      “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life,” BTW, is 2nd only to the reading of the 23rd Psalm in terms of frequency at funerals.

      “Queen Jane Approximately” by Dylan and “Rosalita” by Springsteen.

    • I love Monty Python! And that movie in particular is one of my all-time faves (and not just b/c of the title). The 1st time I saw them, I was recovering from surgery and a buddy got me stoned. I had to turn it off b/c I was laughing so hard it hurt.

      “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life,” BTW, is 2nd only to the reading of the 23rd Psalm in terms of frequency at funerals.

      “Queen Jane Approximately” by Dylan and “Rosalita” by Springsteen.

Leave a Reply

