My Idiosyncratic Observational Skills

While trying to make small talk with a pretty lady the other day, I made the comment, “From my tennis days, I always take note when someone [like you] is a southpaw.  It also makes sense in case I need to fight; not that I’m implying you’re going to attack me or not…”  My self-consciousness then got the better of me, worrying that she might think I was going to attack her.”

I therefore did not expound on Jack Donaghy’s (from 30 Rock) comment that the first thing he thinks about when he meets a new person is how to fight ‘em.  He then points out to Liz, his interlocutor, an obscure physical defect of hers that he would exploit in a fight with her.

Nor did I see fit to pontificate on my fondness for Dwight Schrute, a character on The Office, for his cocksure answer to everything.  “Surviving a bear attack is easy…”; “Her narrow hips make her an unsuitable mating partner…”; and so on. 

I will miss Must See Thursday, but I thought these were Must Miss Comments.

But I did challenge her to an arm wrestling contest.  I regret admitting to losing.

Leave a Reply

