It’s All About Selectivity

I don’t know if all states’ lottery systems are the same, but Pennsylvania and Maryland use a three letter code on their scratch-off tickets to indicate if and how much you’ve won.  “ONE” for one dollar, “FIV” for five bucks, and so on.  The losing tickets have random combinations that don’t correspond to dollar amounts.

I like to imagine that I should be able to collect a random prize that corresponds to the letters.  If it’s “PIZ,” I want to show up at the store for my free pizza.  “OPR?”  Which opera have I won tickets to?  Wagner would be a good way to kill 20 hours.  And if the letters were “VAG,” I would shop around the various stores very carefully.

Leave a Reply

