Packing Like a Jerk

One of my favorite movies is The Jerk.  (Steve Martin was also a philosophy major.)  One of my favorite scenes is when his character has lost everything and is trying to salvage the remnants of his once-glamorous life:

“And that’s the only thing I need is this. I don’t need this or this. Just this ashtray… And this paddle game.  The ashtray and the paddle game and that’s all I need… And this remote control…”

That’s how I always pack.  My haphazard packing before I went away to college once is why I only took six shirts; two pairs of pants; five socks; one pair of underwear; a tennis racket; and my skateboard.  I took several tapes but no tape player, a toothbrush but no toothpaste, and no towels.  I brought money with which I could have bought my overlooked necessities, but I spent it all on alcohol.

It’s probably not a good idea to ever go camping with me.

Leave a Reply

