Although I am more of a conservative than a liberal, I briefly flirted with the Occupy movement over a year ago.   The nicest people there were those imbued with the can-do esprit de corps, who believed they really could make a difference.   I was too jaded to catch their optimism.  Nor did I really bond with the serious analytical types.  It is difficult for people to dialogue when each of them is the smartest person in the room (or tent, as it were).

When the group was evicted, I returned to those with whom I’ve always felt the most camaraderie.   I’m most comfortable with those who like to have mischievous and inconsequential fun, swapping jokes and listening to music.  My temperament suits me well for the Occupy Bar Stool crowd. 

Leave a Reply

